College Detail

Government Law College Tiruchirapalli_cover

Government Law College Tiruchirapalli

Race Course Road, Kajamalai, Tiruchiorappalli, Tamil Nadu

2147483647, 0, 0, 0

  • Established in1953
  • Approved by
  • Affiliated toTamil Nadu Dr Ambedkar Law University

The Department of Legal Studies was constituted on 7.1.1953. At Present the Directorate of Legal studies is functioning at Purasawakkam High Road, Kilpauk, Chennai-10. Besides the Law College at Chennai, to satisfy the longfelt need of the people in the southern districts of Tamilnadu, the Government established a second Law College at Madurai.* It was found that the two Law Colleges were not adequate enough to satisfy the needs of students hailing from the Central Districts of Tamil Nadu. So the Government decided to establish two more Law Colleges one at Tiruchirappalli** and another at Coimbatore in 1979 affiliated to the University of Madras to make good this inadequacy. The Blue print for these two colleges was prepared by Prof. S. Master Sankaran, M.L., the then Director of Legal Studies. Prof. B. Santhakumari, M.L., was appointed by the Government as Special Officer for completing the organizational arrangements in establishing the Law College, Tiruchirappalli. The Law College, Tiruchirappalli started functioning at Periyar E.V.R. College Campus, Tiruchirappalli-20 from 18.1.1980. Due to inadequate accommodation facility, the Law College was shifted to Tmt. Pappammal Anna Chatham, East Chinthamani, Tiruchirappalli 620 002. Subsequently, the College was shifted to the present campus in 1994 and renamed as Government Law College, Tiruchirappalli. From 1982-83 to 1996-97 the College was affiliated to Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli. From 1997-98 onwards the College is affiliated to Tamilnadu Dr. Ambedkar Law University, Chennai. Under F.N. 8-270/2008 (CPP-I/C) dated 24th March 2011, Government Law College, Tiruchirappalli has been included in the list of colleges prepared under Section 2(f) & 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956 under the head- Government Colleges Teaching upto Master's Degree'.

Academic Facilities

  • Educational Tour

  • Scholarships

  • Seats Reservation

  • Guest Lectures

  • Management Q sts

  • Library Resources

  • Scholarship Awards

  • Hi-tech Computer Lab

  • Life skills development program

Non-Academic Facilities

  • Visitors Lounge

  • Auditorium

  • Motivational Camps

  • Annual Meet

  • Security

  • Cultural Activities

  • Online Information

  • Moot Court

Other Facilities

  • Water Purifier

  • Wi fi Campus

  • Playground

  • Health Center

  • Co-education

  • Tuck Shops

  • Rate This:
Law Duration
Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Legislative Law 5 Years
Bachelor of Legislative Law 3 Years
Master of Legislative Law in Labour Law and Administrative Law 2 Years


Leave a comment